Language points – Conjuction “and”

There are two forms of the conjuction “and” in Yoruba. They are àti and Àti is used to conjoin nouns and phrases but  is used to conjoin sentences. For example:

Using àti:

Olú àti Kúnlé lo sí oúnje. Olu and Kunle went to a restaurant

Mo féràn ìyàwó àti àwon omo mi gan an ni. I love my wife and my children a lot

Mo lo sí Èko àti Ibadan I went to Lagos and Ibadan

Using :

Mo jeun, mo sùn, mo sì sisé mi. I ate, slept and I did my work

Mo lo sí Èko, mo sì lo sí Ibadan. I went to Lagos and I went to Ibadan

One thought on “Language points – Conjuction “and”

Responder

